DOWNLOAD: Mob Bounce’s ‘Mob Medicine’, A Powerful Debut Album of Indigenous Hip-Hop

Rising Indigenous hip-hop duo Mob Bounce drop their hotly-anticipated new album, Mob Medicine.

Gitxsan MC The Northwest Kid and Cree/Métis MC Heebz the Earthchild have been locked in the studio working on their “grassroots labour of love” for a minute now, but the hype has been building for their debut album to drop.

Well, the wait is over. Mob Medicine is here.

A self-produced effort featuring the two MCs trading conscious bars over decidedly abstract hip-hop beats, Mob Bounce combines west coastal naturalistic imagery and acoustic poetry with more rugged spiritual anthems dedicated to uplifiting the Indigenous community.

From the spoken word melodics of “Land of Giant Dragonflies” to hypnotic healing joints like “New Sage” and the half-sung, eerily melancholic “Starseed”, the duo pushes out beyond the limits of masculinist rap bravado and into more intimate and interior territory.

Mid-album cuts like “Walk With Our Sisters”, a crackling rhythmic dedication to missing and murdered Indigenous women, and the early single, “Oral Tradition”, find Mob Bounce bringing their commitment to culture, family, and community to the forefront, but it’s in the album’s closing tracks, like the sublime “Sacred Space” featuring Drezus, that their music really finds its spirited groove, infusing the Mob’s open-hearted aesthetics with hip-hop’s urgency and prophetic poetics.

Don’t sleep. This is just the first step on their journey. Get a dose of that good Mob Medicine and like they tell it, #burnsageeveryday.

Stream the album in full below or head to mobbouncemusic.com and grab the free download.

mob medicine

Mob Bounce – Mob Medicine Track List:

1. Cree Dance Clearwater Revival
2. Redfist
3. Culture
4. Animal Spirit Interlude Poem
5. Animal Spirit
6. Land of Giant Dragonflies by Wysper Light
7. Welcome to the Struggle
8. Baldhead with Braids
9. New Sage
10. Starseed Interlude Poem
11. Starseed
12. Redboy
13. Walk With Our Sisters
14. Oral Tradition
15. Brush That Rain
16. Our People Were Sleeping But Now We’re Awake
17. Stay With Me
18. All My Relations
19. Sacred Space (Keep it Real) Ft. Drezus
20. Grandpa’s Journey Song

Stream Mob Bounce’s “Mob Medicine”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *