2011 APCMA Winners: Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards

The 2011 APCMAS—the 6th Annual Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards—were held in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on November 3rd and 4th, 2011. Awards were handed out across a wide range of musical categories and here is the complete list of the award winners.

The biggest winner, by far, was the Indigenous hip-hop group Winnipeg’s Most, who took home 6 awards.

The local hip-hop group won six APCMAs over the course of two nights, walking away with awards for best duo or group, best producer/engineer, best music video for All That I Know, best album cover design for GoodFellaz, best rap/hip-hop CD for the same album and single of the year for Don’t Stop.

The haul adds to the three APCMAs it won last year on the strength of their self-titled album.

More than 57,000 people from around the world voted online to nominate and choose winners in 21 different categories as diverse as best pow wow CD, best hand drum CD, best flute CD and best peyote (traditional) CD.

Read more from the Winnipeg Free Press: Hip-hop group Winnipeg’s Most sweeps Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards

Also taking home multiple awards were Mohawk blues musician Derek Miller who won two awards for Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year and Aboriginal Male Entertainer of the Year and newcomer Ali Fontaine who also won two awards for Best New Artist and Best Country CD for her 2011 self-titled release.

Dene singer-songwriter Leela Gilday also won for Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year. In advance of her win, she spoke to CBC about her pride in being supported by her nation and her people:

Before the awards were handed out, Gilday said she was eager for a win.

“I’m really hoping that the whole Dene Nation got online and voted for me,” Gilday said with a laugh. “But essentially, it just means that I have the support of my people so that’s a really awesome thing.”

Complete List of 2011 APCMA Award Winners

Best Duo or Group: Winnipeg’s Most (Winnipeg)

Best Producer/Engineer: Winnipeg’s Most (Winnipeg)

Best Music Video: Winnipeg’s Most, All That I Know (Winnipeg)

Best Aboriginal Music Radio Station/Program: Think NDN (Vancouver)

Best Album Cover Design: Winnipeg’s Most, GoodFellaz (Winnipeg)

Best Folk /Acoustic CD: Little Hawk, Vigilance (Winnipeg)

Best Flute CD: Jacob Pratt, Eagle Call (Regina)

Best Fiddle CD: Mark Morrisseau, Favourites (St. Francois Xavier)

Best Peyote CD: Kelly Daniels, Blessing from a Hummingbird (Saskatoon)

Best Instrumental CD: Vince Fontaine, Songs for Turtle Island (Winnipeg)

Best Hand Drum CD: Big River Cree, Stand by Me (Saskatoon)

Best Rock CD: Bruthers of Different Muthers, Speakers of Tomorrow (Winnipeg)

Best Country CD: Ali Fontaine, Ali Fontaine (Sagkeeng)

Best Rap /Hip Hop CD: Winnipeg’s Most, GoodFellaz (Winnipeg)

Best Pow Wow CD, Contemporary: Black Bear, Out of Hibernation (Manawan, Que.)

Best Pow Wow CD, Traditional: Blackstone, Live in Alexis (Duffield, Alta.)

Best New Artist: Ali Fontaine (Sagkeeng)

Single of the Year: Winnipeg’s Most, Don’t Stop (Winnipeg)

Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year: Derek Miller, Stoned For Days (Six Nations, Ont.)

Aboriginal Male Entertainer of the Year: Derek Miller (Six Nations, Ont.)

Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year: Leela Gilday (Yellowknife, N.W.T.)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Errol Ranville (Winnipeg)

See more of RPM’s coverage of the Manito Ahbee Festival and the 2011 APCMAs—and stay tuned for more updates on the 2011 APCMA winners.