2011 APCMA Nominees Announced

After the first round of voting, the Aboriginal People’s Choice Music Awards have announced the official nominees today.

Many artists have garnered multiple nominations like Don Amero, Cris Derksen, Winnipeg’s Most, Samantha Crain, Derek Miller and JB the First Lady, to name a few. It’s a tough call in each category!

Online voting begins now and ends October 6th, 2011. The award ceremony will take place November 4th, 2011 in Winnipeg. The APCMA is a celebration of all the nominees and their work. Congratulations to all of the artists from RPM.

See the complete list of nominees and cast your vote at aboriginalpeopleschoice.com

Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year
Elisapie Isaac
JB the First Lady
Kristi Lane Sinclair
Leela Gilday
Yvonne St. Germaine

Aboriginal Male Entertainer of the Year
Dallas Arcand
Derek Miller
Don Amero
Donny Parenteau

Best Duo or Group
Bruthers of Different Muthers
Winnipeg’s Most

Best New Aritst
Cris Derksen
Ali Fontaine

Best Folk Acoustic Album
Conrad Bigknife
Gabriel Ayala
Little Hawk
Samantha Crain

Best Hand Drum Album
Big River Cree
Love Medicine
Nakoa Heavyrunner
Thundering Spirit
Young Confederation

Best Instrumental Album
Cris Derksen
Gabriel Ayala
Jason Burnstick
JJ Lavallee
Vince Fontaine

Best Rap/Hip hop Album
JB the First Lady
Shawn Bernard
Winnipeg’s Most

Best Rock Album
Bruthers of Different Muthers
The Johnnys
Will Belcourt

Best Country Album
Ali Fontaine
Don Amero
Don Parenteau
Genevieve Fisher
Leanne Goose

Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year
Ceramony – The Last Great Man
Derek Miller – Stoned for Days
Don Amero –  Right Where I Want to Be
Samantha Crain – Santa Fe
Samian – Tshinanu

Best Aboriginal Radio Station Program
Native Trailblazers
Think NDN
Westbrook Western Hour

1 Comment

  1. lisa

    How did Dark Water Rising not make the cut?!