Briggs, Thelma Plum, Dan Sultan Lead Nominations for 2015 National Indigenous Music Awards

Nominations for Australia’s 2015 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced. 

Leading the pack is acclaimed Yorta Yorta hip-hop artist Briggs who is nominated in five categories, including Artist of the Year, Best Song and Best Music Video (for “Bad Apples”), Best Album and Best Cover Art (for Sheplife). Briggs took home the award for Best New Talent at last year’s NIMAs.

Following closely behind are singer Thelma Plum and “country soul rock ‘n roll” artist Dan Sultan, who are each nominated for three awards.

Plum, who’s latest EP, Monsters, was one of our favourite releases of last year, is nominated for Artist of the Year, and has two songs up for Song of the Year: “How Much Does Your Love Cost?” and the soaring anthem “Young in Love”.

Sultan is also up for Artist of the Year, and his single “Dirty Ground” is nominated for Song of the Year and Best Music Video.

We’re also pleased to see the NIMAs continue their Indigenous community focus by honouring several local musical initiatives produced by Desert Pea Media and Indigenous Hip Hop Projects in collaboration with local partners and Indigenous youth.

The National Indigenous Music Awards, which celebrate excellence in contemporary Indigenous music from across Australia, will be held in Darwin on July 25, 2015.

Here is the Full List of Nominees for the 2015 National Indigenous Music Awards:

Artist of the Year

  • Jessica Mauboy
  • Thelma Plum
  • Dan Sultan
  • Briggs

Song of the Year

  • “How Much Does Your Love Cost?” – Thelma Plum
  • “Young In Love” – Thelma Plum
  • “Bad Apples” – Briggs
  • “Dirty Ground” – Dan Sultan
  • “Black Woman” – Emma Donovan

Album of the Year

  • Sheplife – Briggs
  • Dawn – Emma Donovan and Putbacks
  • Uncle – Frank Yamma
  • The Genesis Project – East Journey featuring Yothu Yindi National

New Talent of the Year

  • Philly
  • Lucky Luke
  • Tjintu Desert Band

Cover Art of the Year

  • Song of Arnhem Land – East Journey ft Yothu Yindi
  • Cause N Affect – Radical Son
  • Uncle – Frank Yamma
  • Sheplife – Briggs

Film Clip of the Year (aka Best Music Video)

  • “Bad Apples” – Briggs
  • “Song of Arnhem Land (Salas/Moore Mix)” – East Journey
  • “Human Behaviour” – Radical Son
  • “Dirty Ground” – Dan Sultan
  • “Parlingarri” – B2M (Bathurst to Melville)

Community Clip of the Year [now National]

  • Breathe In, Breathe Out  – Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Katherine West Health Board and Bulla Camp
  • Got a lot Going On – Yarn Safe Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects and Indigenous creative agency Gilimbaa
  • Uncle Alfred’s Mens Group – Spear of Destiny Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Cairns Murri Crew – Built To Last Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Tagai Buway – Two Worlds Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Call On Me – Produced by: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Broome Regional Aboriginal Medical Service and St. Mary’s College



For more information visit: National Indigenous Music Awards