APCMA Nominees 2011: Aboriginal Songwriter Of The Year

Instalment number two of RPM’s roundup of 2011 Aboriginal People’s Choice Awards nominees. This week’s focus will be on the category of Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year.


CerAmony – Juno Award winning Cree rock band CerAmony are in the race with their song The Last Great Man written by Rakesso Mukash and Matthew A. Isserhoff.

Derek Miller – Grand River Mohawk rocker Derek Miller brings his song Stoned For Days into the second round of voting in this category.

Don AmeroRight Where I Wanna Be was written by Don Amero and Jay Tooke. Don just recently released a video for this song as well.

Samantha Crain – Shawnee folk artist Samantha Crain enters her first Aboriginal People’s Choice Awards race with her track entitled Santa Fe. The accompanying video was directed by Sterlin Harjo and shot in none other than the beautiful city of Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Samian – Pikogan native rapper Samian enters his song Tshinanu which features Florent Vollant of the legendary Innu group Kashtin.


Who do you think will win the category of Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year?
Leave your comments below.