NIMA 2011: National Indigenous Music Award Winners

Thousands flocked to Australia’s National Indigenous Music Awards in Darwin over the weekend. Territory artist Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu was nominated in five of the seven National categories and two of the five Territory Awards.

Winning Song of the Year, Album of the Year, Best Film Clip and Best Act, Gurrumul wasn’t present at the awards but did appear via webcam from his home in Arnhem Land.

Other award winners were the Gapuwiyak School Band, the Mulka Project, and Rrawun Maymuru. Aboriginal rock bands No Fixed Address and Coloured Stone were both inducted into the National Indigenous Music Awards Hall of Fame.

For a complete list of winners, see Top End Stars Shine Bright on Indigenous Music Night of Nights.

Check out photos from the night in crawlinson’s flickr set.

Yunupingu wins big at Indigenous music awards from NewsOnABC: