NIMA 2012 Finalists Announced

The 2012 NIMA finalists were announced this week with the awards ceremony set to take place August 11, 2012, in Darwin, Australia.

The National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) celebrate Australia’s most outstanding Indigenous musical artists, from “the Top End to Tasmania.” Young newcomers The Medics have scored three nominations, with multiple noms also going to Troy Cassar-Daley, Busby Marou, Gurrumul Yunupungu and Impossible Odds.

Here are the highlights of this year’s finalists:

National Artist of the Year

  • The Black Arm Band
  •  Gurrumul Yunupingu
  •  Jessica Mauboy
  • Busby Marou
  • Troy Cassar-Daley

National Album of the Year 

  • Ngambala Wiji Li-Wunungu – Together We Are Strong – Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen
  • Winanjjara – Warren H Williams and the Warumungu Songmen
  • Foundations – The Medics
  • Busby Marou – Busby Marou
  • Home – Troy Cassar-Daley

National New Talent of the Year 

Read the full list of finalists at nima.musicnt.com.au.

Watch the video for National Song of the Year finalist Song of Arnhem Land, by East Journey: